‘Star Trek’ star gets his own TV series

“Star Trek” actor George Takei has been named to the executive producers’ list of the Television Critics Association’s TV Critics Choice Awards, the network announced Tuesday.

The nominations are announced March 10, and Takei will join fellow nominees like Robert Picardo, Paul Giamatti, Tom Mison and Kevin Spacey in the lineup.

Takei will host “StarTrek” for TCA as a part-time series on TBS, a new show set in the world of the original series.

Takei, who was a longtime member of the TCA, said in a statement, “This year, I’m honored to be one of the first Trek fans in history to take home the prestigious Television Critics Choice Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series.

This recognition will go a long way to celebrating the creative team behind the franchise that I grew up with and which I have loved since my youth.

This is a huge honor, and I’m looking forward to sharing it with you all.”

Star Trek: Discovery, which was produced by CBS Television Studios and Starz, stars Zachary Quinto as Capt. James T. Kirk, Zoe Saldana as Uhura, Anton Yelchin as Capts.

Gabriel Lorca and Alexander Siddig as Spock.

Star Trek: Enterprise will return for a second season on CBS in 2019.

Star Trek Beyond, the third new series from CBS Television, will be produced by Blumhouse Productions and the CBS Television Network.

It will debut on CBS on Oct. 18.